The creation of La Cité universitaire francophone at the University of Regina is the result of a series of transformations that span almost a century.  

1918 – French-language university education is introduced in Gravelbourg under a partnership between Collège Mathieu and the University of Ottawa. Collège Mathieu, located in Gravelbourg in southern Saskatchewan, begins offering a classics program in French.

1968 – The Bilingual Studies Centre is established in Regina on the University campus to take over responsibility for French-language university education in Saskatchewan.

1988 – Thanks to an agreement between the federal and provincial governments, 10 million dollars is allocated to the construction of an independent building on the University of Regina campus – the  Language Institute Building – as well as to the development and implementation of university programs in French through the Language Institute.

2003 – The Language Institute’s mandate is revised with the participation of Saskatchewan’s Francophone community to create the Institut français.

2012 – The University of Regina establishes a working group to examine the future of the Institut français in the broader context of French-language education at the University.

2015 – The Department of French merges with the Institut français to form a single autonomous academic entity: La Cité universitaire francophone. This academic status, equivalent to that of other faculties, gives it the authority to manage its own university programs and to grant degrees. 



  La Cité universitaire francophone
  cite@uregina.ca | 306.585.4828